Browser Incompatible

Your current browser or your computer cannot run our content, please make sure your browser is fully updated or try a different browser. If that doesn’t work then please try a different computer.
Back to Test Info

Interpreting GED® Test Results

Taking the GED® test is a great accomplishment.

The GED® test covers four subjects: Science, Social Studies, Mathematical Reasoning, and Reasoning Through Language Arts (RLA). The goal of the test is to gauge your knowledge of these subjects relative to that of a high school graduate.

The GED® test assigns a separate score for each section, using two different numbers. The standard score is set to a scale of 200 to 800, along with a percentile rank between 1 and 99. A top score of 800 in a section would likely place one in the 99th percentile, or the top 1 percent of all test-takers, meaning it exceeded 99 percent of the other participants.

The average score for students is typically at the 500 level, although the percentile might vary depending on how others scored while taking the test. The standard score is a fixed number and the percentile is a relative ranking.

To pass the GED® test, participants must earn a minimum score of at least 410 in each of the content areas and an average of 450 or greater across the total test, for a total score of at least 2250. The percentile rank does not affect whether somebody passes the test.

Students who fail to achieve a passing score can retake the content area tests twice in a calendar year, for a total of three times total in a calendar year.

Other GED® Information
How to Study For The GED® Test
Why Take The GED® Test

Back to Test Info